Culturally diverse

Question of the Day July 18, 2013 ~ Culturally Diverse

Are you culturally diverse or more homogenous, in your background and in your current life?
How does that affect you or play out in your life?

In my background I had a fair amount of cultural diversity, and I find I can mix in most cultures.

I tend to think of myself as post cultural.

Anyone who is seriously into exploration of possibility space must go far beyond any and all cultural boundaries.

In my background I had great grandparents from 4 very different cultural paradigms, German, English aristocracy, English yoeman farmers, and Cockney seafarers (both grandfather and great grandfather rose from able seaman to captain of sailing ships).

My dad was a self described “jack of all trades and master of none”.

So I was bought up with exposure to many different skills, and a tradition of being able to do anything if you are willing to put the time and energy into making it happen, and continuing through all of the failures that will happen along the way.

I have gone to university, and been involved in many different groups there, worked as a teacher, an engineer, a fisherman, a computer systems developer, a politician and a law enforcement officer – with all of their multiple cultures.

I have had Maori neighbours my whole life, so have a reasonable exposure to Maori culture (polynesian, recently stone age technology, and with some very complex social features).

I have friends from most cultures, and acquaintances from most of the rest.

My life has been and is an amazing mix, and yet I spend most of my time alone.

I belong to no culture, and I acknowledge a debt to many cultures.

My objective is to promote an environment where most people are post cultural.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) with reasonable security, tools, resources and degrees of freedom, and reasonable examples of the natural environment; and that is going to demand responsibility from all of us - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome