China Study

The China Study: A Formal Analysis and Response

Thank you Denise, your critique is extremely interesting and thorough.

18 months ago I was diagnosed with metastasised melanoma, and given a 50% chance of living 5 months. I went on a RAVE Vegan diet (having been a consumer of much meat and chocolate and sugars in many forms for most of my life) and I am still here, and the last tumour was found over 6 months ago.

My own research aligns quite closely with your conclusions, that sugars are the biggest problem, followed closely by acidifying foods (including most un-sprouted grains). And even after allowing for those factors, there does seem to remain a component that relates to animal protein. The most likely pathway seems to be the overloading of the immune system with protein fragments absorbed into the blood stream during digestion, acting to deplete the ability of the immune system to recognise and deal with cancer cells and tumours.

I have also proved to my own satisfaction, that there is a very strong negative link between vitamin C and tumour progression. 7 times in the last 3 years I have reduced vitamin C intake, and had tumours show up. 4 times I have had them surgically removed and identified, and each time they were spindle melanoma type. The other three times I got them to disappear simply by increasing vitamin C intake to at least 5g twice daily, and about 1 gram per hour in between during waking hours (actually taking up to 20g at a time sometimes, and up to about 70g a day, though it took a few weeks to build to that without the usual high dose side effects).

Not exactly double blind testing, and sufficient for my own sense of understanding. My details are on my blog site – http://www.tedhowardnz.wordpress.com/about for my medical records, and /cancer for what I have done diet wise.

Tomorrow I am going in for a full body CAT scan, I will post the results on my blog when I get them.

During the process, it has become very clear to me that the short and long term incentives to make profit override all incentives to deliver health and happiness to the population, in the current system. There is more money in sickness than there is in wellness.

It seems possible to develop other systems, with different incentive structures, but we don’t have them yet – http://www.solnx.org is one class of possible solutions to that problem.

As a biochemist by training, with 40 years of interest in genetics, I am fascinated by the amount of viral DNA that recent studies have shown to be in our genome, and the many roles that vitamin C seems to play in our immune and anti-viral responses.

I have come to strongly suspect that most cancers have a viral component to their progression, though I have little firm evidence for this, just a very strong intuition.

Thanks again, for a very clear critique, as free of preconceptions and agendas as any I have read.

I honour your integrity.

Ted

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) with reasonable security, tools, resources and degrees of freedom, and reasonable examples of the natural environment; and that is going to demand responsibility from all of us - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to China Study

  1. passion4raw says:

    HI Ted, I have been fascinated to read your blog posts and they align very strongly with my readings on a high raw vegan diet. I don’t have cancer but I do have HIV which caused low platelets (I’ve never said this on a public forum before) but my drive is to get off the strong meds I’m on, so I started the raw foods with green smoothies a year ago. Fresh greens and wild weeds from my garden. Then in May 2011 I went raw altogether pretty much all the time. I had such a boost the other day when a man came to tell us about a company called Nu Skin who have a lot of supplements (I was alarmed that they are using nano technology to help the supplements get into the cells) which they sell you when you’ve had your antioxidant level measured on the pharmanex machine. My husband eats minimal veges and his reading was 18,000 (not sure what’s) in the lowest range and my level of antioxidants was 74,000! The highest he has so far tested on anyone. Higher than his reading on all the supplements. I was so elated to get confirmation that my humble green kale, broccoli, wheat grass, sunflower shoots, chickweed, plantain, dandelion etc that I blend up with fresh fruit every morning are rebuilding my body and protecting me from free radicals. How does it get any better than that!
    I just read that when we eat meat we are ingesting the DNA of another creature so how can that be healthy and cows milk is meant to grow calves into a very large boned animal so no wonder people end up with calcium deposits and all kinds of problems. Cows get their calcium from grass and so we can get it from plants too.
    Thank you for sharing that Landmark Education has made a difference in your life. It has in mine as well.
    Julia

    Like

Comment and critique welcome