Local Earthquake

So much happening the last few days.

When paying the bills on Friday last week we discovered that only part of our insurance was transferred last month. Everyone is running scared, and no one is taking any responsibility.

I spent about 3 hours talking to people who were not speakers of New Zealand English (3 different people of Indian extraction – nice enough people, but hard for each of us to make out what the other was saying).

Anyhow – since the big quake in Christchurch, no-one is taking new policies – and according to them we classify as a new policy.
According to me we classify as clerical error, and we should have been transferred over last month.

Have probably spent 10 hours dealing with that one way or another; and then a few minutes ago we had a decent earthquake here – not huge, and certainly the biggest in the 12 years we have lived here.

Since I started writing this we have had 3 quakes, 1 at 3.5 and two at 4.2.

We’re supposed to be driving down to Dunedin tomorrow to visit with Ailsa’s parents and leaving William and Jewelia at home to look after each other and the dogs.

All very interesting.

Earlier today I had a talk with a melanoma expert, who was not at all interested in anything I had done. In his world view, it was clear to me that he thought the reduction in size of my tumours was just a spontaneous remission, and nothing to do with what I was doing or what I believed.

It seems almost unbelievable to me that they can deny the power of the placebo effect – which is the strongest effect we have for treating most cancers.

I am not sure what is doing it for me.
If it is placebo effect, or effects of a clean organic vegan diet, or the effects of eating apricot kernels, or Essiac Tea, or Vitamin C, or some mix of the above.

I am reasonably confident that all of them have some effect, and it seems that many of the medical establishment are more interested their funding than in people’s welfare.

Right now, my faith in large scale systems is at an all time low.
The way I am being treated by insurance companies that have been happy to take close to $200K from me over the last 40 years, yet run for cover as soon as it seems likely they may have to pay something out. I am not trying to cheat anyone, just trying to survive in systems that are about as frustrating and inefficient as any I have come across.

Doesn’t help my case that they guy who started this process for us had his last day with the company yesterday.

Our life continues in this “beyond the soap opera” vein.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) with reasonable security, tools, resources and degrees of freedom, and reasonable examples of the natural environment; and that is going to demand responsibility from all of us - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Local Earthquake

  1. Man-O-Man Ted, the insurance situation sounds awful. What a stinkin’ pickle to be in, and not one speck of it is of your own doing. We’ve never had a reason to test ours out. I’m going to ask Len to call and just “touch base” with our policy holders to let them know we’re alive and well, and ask them if they are.

    You said, “… and it seems that many of the medical establishment are more interested their funding than in people’s welfare.”

    From your description, I would draw the same conclusion.

    You guys take care and please keep us posted.

    Like

Comment and critique welcome