Hats off to you

My Hat’s Off to You

Who is your hat off to?

Hi Laurie,
Like most here, I lift my hat to you, and to all who make the effort for others. As you know, respect is a big thing in my life.

What I may not have shared is a bit of family history. In 1874, my 16 year old great grandfather (the son of a yeoman farmer in England) refused to “doff his hat” to the lord of the Manor. This made life so uncomfortable for the family, that they paid for my grandfather’s passage to the colonies (as far from England as he could get). He left London on Jan 16th 1875, on the barque Dilharee, and arrived in Auckland NZ 105 days later, a stranger in a strange land.

So hat lifting has a very prominent place in the lore of this line of the Howards of New Zealand.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) with reasonable security, tools, resources and degrees of freedom, and reasonable examples of the natural environment; and that is going to demand responsibility from all of us - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome