Assorted short posts

A collection of several short posts.


Use The ‘Reset’ Button – How To Improve Positive Thinking

All true enough in a sense.

The most powerful thing we can do is to choose the higher level context of mind.
Mind will deliver the thoughts that it does. We have no direct control over those thoughts, they are the outcome of an amazingly complex (holographic) interplay of all our experiences and abstractions. What we can do is provide a strong influence on that outcome, by the choice of high level context.
A small change in context can completely change the meaning derived from a lifetime of experience.
The experiences remain the same, what changes is the context in which relationships are formed, and that context is king.
The higher (broader) the context, the greater the influence we have.
My latest blog post – https://tedhowardnz.wordpress.com/2011/03/21/truth-and-capitalism/ might provide a context of money and capitalism that few may have considered previously.


Question of the Day March 25, 2011 ~Ending Anothers Life~

Could ending another’s life ever be justified?

As a professional hunter and fisherman I have killed many mammals and birds (many thousands), and millions of fish.
Possibly the most disturbing was killing a pig, that had been a pet of someone, who asked me to kill it, because he couldn’t. It was clear to me that the pig knew I was going to kill it, and that it was very upset and was squealing at the top of it’s voice while I was still 40 ft away from it. I have always had a lot of respect for pigs as very smart animals, and that one was very smart, even for a pig.

Fortunately I haven’t killed any person.

Like others, I think I could kill, to save myself, or someone else, and it would be an action of last resort.

These days I will only kill insects as a last resort, I will usually encourage them to leave the house before resorting to killing those that do not respond positively to my efforts.

I definitely do not support the death penalty, unless the person wants it.
I do not support armed invasion for economic or political reasons (like the US invasions of Iraq and Afghanistan).
And it does seem that the price of freedom is eternal vigilance, and the old maxim, if you would have peace then prepare for war, is as true now as any time in history. I can handle myself physically, and can handle most machines and weapons systems, and am also familiar with military tactics (land, sea and air).

I think we are capable of creating a society where very few people and resources need to be devoted to defense training, and we are not there yet.


Question of the Day March 26, 2011 ~Seven Hugs a Day~

Do you get your “seven hugs a day for health?” How could you get up to seven?

I am seriously into hugs.
Ailsa and I hug often – much more than 7 times a day, most days.
In my experience, most people like hugs, particularly big enveloping bear hugs.


It’s a Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

We’ve just had a beautiful day in Kaikoura. We had the 100th anniversary of the Kaikoura Golf club, with over a hundred on the course for a shotgun start at 11:15 this morning.
Later I came home and then went out for a walk around the end of the peninsula with some friends from Wellington, and two friends of theirs from Canada, and had a great couple of hours exploring the local wildlife, along the cliff tops, then back along the sea shore.
Then home to prepare dinner for Jewelia and myself, as Ailsa was out performing at a wedding.
Also time online in 3 different communities.
So a very interesting day, in all “neighbourhoods” – one of many communities, and many different sorts of action.


Putting on a Face

Love the mouse face Laurie
I do an ear wiggle, which is nowhere near as dramatic as the mouse.
It seems to me that we all respond differently to different contexts, it is a basic social skill at one level, and at another level it is a fundamental property of the subconscious mind.
I rarely set out to consciously hide anything these days, usually exactly the opposite.


Not only the fittest survive

I agree with niekvento – this is not up to the usual standard.
The concept of biological fitness is not about aerobic fitness, it is much more like that of a piece fitting into the jigsaw puzzle that is the environment in which it finds itself.
Fitness in this sense means fitting the constraints of the environment.
Over time, the environment molds life to fit the conditions, selecting the best fit in each generation, averaged over all factors.

So in this sense, the headline is a complete nonsense, as are the claims of what Darwin said.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) with reasonable security, tools, resources and degrees of freedom, and reasonable examples of the natural environment; and that is going to demand responsibility from all of us - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Assorted short posts

  1. holessence says:

    “I think we are capable of creating a society where very few people and resources need to be devoted to defense training, and we are not there yet.”

    YES, I AGREE!

    “I am seriously into hugs. Ailsa and I hug often – much more than 7 times a day, most days. In my experience, most people like hugs, particularly big enveloping bear hugs.”

    YES, I AGREE!

    Like

Comment and critique welcome