What do you not want to learn

Training for Warriors

“The obstacle is the path.” …. Then the Warrior realizes that these repeated experiences have but one aim: to teach him what he does not want to learn.
What do you not want to learn?

You do like to ask difficult questions Laurie 😉

I keep on getting involved in politics, standing for parliament, and not getting elected.
Sometimes I wonder if I am wasting time. Sometimes I am just clear that elections are a time when many people are listening, and people are more likely to begin to engage in conversations about ideas that are profoundly new, and challenge many accepted truths.

Sometimes I wonder if I am being too lazy, in not working 20 hours a day, as I see some doing. Yet at other times I know that I need space, that my ability to create demands me creating emptiness.

Sometimes I wonder if I might have achieved more had I focused more on making money, and less on questioning everything? And I could not be where I am now without the experience and questioning I have done.

I saw a clip from George Soros recently, stating the key is asking the most appropriate question.

So many questions seem important.

Why are we talking to entities far more evolved than ourselves?

Why do we allow cheating strategies to dominate our political and economic systems?

Why are we not all more interested in our own long term interests?

And evolution seems to supply some aspects of those answers, and leaves others open.

I am not sure what I do not want to learn.

I am confident that I do not want to accept any answer that degrades to value of individual human beings generally, and that seems to be most answers peddled by various dominant sets of dogma.

What I am seeking is a safe path that delivers security and freedom to all, within constraints that ensure social and ecological sustainability.

I am now confident beyond any shadow of reasonable doubt that it means that we must cease creating money as debt.
If money is to remain a useful tool, then most of it has to be distributed equally, to essentially give everyone a reasonable “vote” (with their money) as to what is most important to them (beyond mere survival).
It means having real monetary reward for creating systems and processes that deliver greater benefit with less environmental impact (looked at over the entire lifespan of the process in question).

I know that we cannot survive allowing money to dominate our planning processes, but that money may remain a useful tool in terms of organising distribution.

I know the idea that people operating purely to make profit will deliver societal benefit is a logical nonsense.

How to structure all these ideas in a way that others can get easily – that is the bit I haven’t yet learned.
Might be just a matter of persistence.
Might be something deeper.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Laurie's blog and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

