Causes of Heart Disease (and cancer)

World Renowned Heart Surgeon Speaks Out On What Really Causes Heart Disease

7 years ago I was sent home “Palliative care only” and given a 2% chance of living 2 years (metastasized melanoma). That got my attention. I did my research. I switched to a vegan, whole food, no added sugar, no added oil diet, and supplemented with high dose (9g twice daily) vitamin C. I lost 19Kg and the tumours went away.

This information has been around a long time.

Burried on page 375 of the 2nd report of the World Cancer Research Fund is a set of 8 recommendations.
http://wcrf.org/sites/default/files/Second-Expert-Report.pdf

What I did is on my blog site.
Anyone who wants some extra datapoints is welcome to look.
https://tedhowardnz.wordpress.com/cancer-treatment/

It isn’t just heart disease. It is cancer, heart disease and diabetes. Same diet, same response.

100% vegan doesn’t seem to be required, but getting total calories from animal products below 10% is. I could see that I had enough will power to say no to steak, but I couldn’t imagine me having enough will power to stop after one bite. So going vegan was the only practical way I could see knowing myself as much as I do.

For me it seems to have worked. I have been cancer free for 6 years. My heart issues now come from low blood pressure and not sufficient self care (as our town had a 7.8 quake last year, and I have quite a few issues to deal with as a result).

Lots of material out there, and when evaluating individual studies, it pays to see who is funding the individuals and organisations doing the studies.
I grew up on farms, and was a hunter and fisherman for 55 years. Most of my calories came from animal products.
Everyone is different, and for everyone there will be a rate limiting step to immune system function. For most people that is likely to be availability of vitamin C.
It seems to me to all be about getting on the right side of as many probability curves as possible.

A plant based diet – ensuring you have enough omega 3 oils (linseed, chia seed and walnuts are reasonable sources) and supplementing with B12, should work for most people. And everyone has variations on a large set of themes, so there is a lot of trial and error in life, no way around that. Do the research for yourself, and learn to recognise what your body is telling you, then put that into the mix with the best medical advice you can find, and take responsibility for your own life, seems to be the best prescription going. Not necessarily easy, and it does seem to work.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in cancer, Our Future and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

