Laws that baffle?

Jan. 13-16,’17 ~QofDay~ Laws or Social Rules

Are there any laws or social rules that completely baffle you?

Baffle me, no.
I have a very active imagination, and can usually imagine some possible set of scenarios by which any rule or law may have emerged in some set of circumstances and contexts where it seemed appropriate, then got into other contexts where it was entirely inappropriate.

That seems to me to apply to way over 50% of our laws and cultural norms (probably closer to 95%).

And I am clear that I am not a great fan of rules or laws or norms.
I am much more a fan of people having universal respect for life and liberty, and acting responsibly in both social and ecological contexts.

And responsibility is always going to be a matter of negotiation and choice between different domains and levels and sets of values (even within one individual, as well as in broader social contexts). None of us are singular entities, we all contain multitudes in a very real sense. It may be as simple as conflicting desire for an ice-cream and maintaining a particular body shape – both can exist and it will come down to relative strengths and choices at different levels.

It is almost 7 years since I went vegan. That doesn’t mean my desire for ice-cream has reduced any, and it does mean that I have elevated other values (survival in this instance) to a level that has overpowered the desire for ice-cream in every instance. Same is true for a great many other things in many other contexts.

And it has been baffling to me that many people would rather die than stop eating ice-cream.
I just can’t imagine valuing my own life so low.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Question of the Day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

