Ideapod as a writers tool

Using Ideapod As A Writer’s Tool

Maybe some of you could share how you get in the flow to release the words…

Kinda simple really – a lifetime reading about a vast variety of subjects, taking all reasonable opportunities to try new things, and spend a lot of time contemplating the probable relationships of different things.

Then I just read what someone else has written, try out a few different interpretations and sort out what seem to be the most probable, and then let the words flow.

Most of my writing comes from over 40 years of actively thinking about and trying out different sorts of solutions to the question: What sorts of social, political and technical institutions are required to allow potentially very long-lived individuals a reasonable chance of living a very long time with reasonable degrees of freedom?

Over the last 30 or so years that has platted together many strands from complexity theory, evolution, and a raft of other disciplines.

So I just open up to possibility and watch the words flow, reviewing them before pressing the [POST] button.

[followed by]

Funny how different we can all be, and yet we have our own versions. I have similarities to both Boonn and Seer.

I was 26 when I got my first word processor, a TRS80 Model III. I think the most words I had ever put together in one set was about 450 at that stage (my handwriting is virtually unreadable – even to me). I clearly recall the first page I produced on that word processor had over 30 spelling errors in it, but I could correct them just by altering the words, I didn’t have to redo the entire thing. That simple aspect seemed to unlock something within me, and words started flowing, and have flowed ever since.

The error rate has dropped, and is still significant. My left hand often gets ahead of my right hand, resulting in transposed letters. Sometimes it jumps entire words.

I usually re-read and check everything at least twice, and still I miss some errors.

I love the way ideas from others trigger ideas in me, how we works best together.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Ideas and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

