Out of sight out of mind

Dec. 17-20,’16 ~QofDay~ A Popular Phrase and a Proverb

“Out of sight, out of mind” is a very popular phrase, but so is the proverb “Absence makes the heart grow fonder”.
What do you think?

Ailsa is definitely an aherent to the “out of sight, out of mind” when it comes to things. For her, anything in a cupboard is tidy. For me, unless it is exactly where it should be in the cupboard, it is a concern.

Lots of things I cannot see concern me, as I can envisage them – see them with my “mind’s eye”.

But then, I have never claimed to be normal.

Absence makes the heart grow fonder definitely has an element of truth for me.

I spend so much time exploring intellectual realms, I like my physical surroundings to be as constant as possible.

If something or someone is missing, then I usually want them back.

So yes – some truth in both sayings, and each is relevant to different contexts.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Question of the Day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

