Spooked Out?

October 27-31,’16 ~QofDay~ Getting Spooked

Have you ever been spooked out?
If so how were you spooked out?

I have been “spooked out” more times than I can count.

As a child I was very nervous. I was scarred of the dark, yet for a time our toilet was a long-drop (a hole in the ground, about 20 yards from the house, with a small shed around it, with many insects and spiders, that rattled in the wind). Needing to go to the toilet at night, particularly when the wind was blowing, and buildings and trees were creaking and groaning, was terrifying for me – every time.

I am still often scared by noises at night, and I make the discipline of walking at night, most nights (every night when I am at home) without having a torch on, and experiencing the fear, and experiencing making sense of the world without vision, feeling and hearing my way over steep uneven ground.

I recall one particularly spooky event from my early teens, when as a family we were gathered in front of the TV, watching the “Andy Griffiths Show”. In our reality a storm was blowing outside. On the show, Andy was in the forest with a group of scouts and they were telling ghost stories around a camp fire. Just as it got to the spooky punch line of the TV story, a particularly savage gust f wind sucked one of the lounge room windows right out of its frame – taking the hinges and fastener with it. The timing was second perfect. The terror seemed to fill all of existence. That would have been around 1969.

I am still scared of heights, and I force myself to climb mountains and trees, to feel the fear and do it anyway. And sometimes I just have to stand still, for a few seconds or minutes or hours, until the fear relents its grip and I can continue my journey.

And fear is a daily companion of mine, at every level, and I keep going.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Question of the Day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

