Grains in diet

Higher intake of whole grains associated with lower risk of major chronic diseases and death

Even small increases in consumption could bring substantial health benefits

As my old stats lecturer drummed into me, correlation does not imply causation, and it is a good place to start looking.

I wonder how much of that is additional micronutrients from whole grains, and how much is displacement of refined sugars and starches.

One implies deficiency effects, things that are needed in trace quantities for efficient cellular function that have multiple overlapping long term impacts on survival and functional probabilities.

The other involves incapacitation of systems via overload and various levels of cellular and sub-cellular stress response.

And then of course there can be be secondary, tertiary synergies etc.

Biology gets really complex, really quickly.
And I have been on a vegan wholefoods diet for 6 years now. Given that medical opinion 6 years ago was that I was unlikely to survive 6 months, I am convinced. [My life insurance paid out, so it was serious.]

Once ejected from the medical system as “palliative care only”, my only options were diet and belief. I used best evidence available in both domains. Am strict vegan, high dose vit C, and still alive.

A case study of one, but with many sub-cases of cancer tumours coming and going in response to small changes in diet.

As a biochemist by training, I suspect the biochemistry of the effects are many and subtle, and may take a very long time to enumerate in detail, and they certainly seem to be there. Evidence is clear, any animal products in diet are a risk factor, and more than 10% of total calories coming from animal products are a significant risk factor in cancer, heart disease and diabetes. The World Cancer Research Report – http://wcrf.org/int/research-we-fund/continuous-update-project-cup has 8 recommendations starting on page 375 – as one example.

Evidence sets are vast.
Pressures from profit based groups to obfuscate and hide this information with pseudo studies under the auspices of respected institutes is even bigger.

Very strange system we find ourselves in.
All aspects of our health and well being and freedom are held hostage to profit at so many different levels.

In games theoretical terms, cheating strategies now clearly dominate the human cooperative. It need not be that way. We have other options.
It only takes awareness and choice.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Longevity, understanding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Grains in diet

  1. mw says:

    Hi Ted, I had contacted you (initially @ anewgaia community) several years ago after I had learned of your Melanoma recovery. And now I have a family member who is about to undergo Nuclear Scans (PET) for cancer/s, and I am wondering about the effects the radiation will have upon her and if it would be wise to refuse the scans? Do you have any blogs related to this phase of the treatment process? Also, she is not interested in Chemotherapy and so I am recommending “The RAVE Diet and Lifestyle” to her (we will all be doing this diet with her as support) – I had used this diet for high blood pressure and had positive results a few years back. BTW, I had heard of this diet from you. I am not used to dealing with hospitals/medical doctors and worry that they will enforce there radioactive therapies on her/us. Thank You very much! Mark

    Like

    • I was very fortunate in a sense.
      I stayed with the medical model until they ejected me.
      Once I was sent home “palliative care only” I was clear that all the medical system was going to do was to manage my pain as I died.

      So I didn’t have to make any choices against medical advice.
      I took medical advice as long as it was offered.

      There is a small danger from radiation from various scans, and typically such risk is way below the potential benefit of having the useful information such scans provide.
      PET (positron emission tomography) uses a radioactive variant of glucose to show areas of high metabolic activity, which can be a very effective method of identifying the location of actively growing tumours.
      It isn’t a treatment modality, just an information gathering modality, and because it is based on radioactive molecules, it is a risk. A single scan delivers about a quarter of the recommended annual maximum radiation dose. So not in itself a major risk, unless there are other complicating factors.

      I strongly recommend a vegan diet, as much raw as possible, and with the supplementation of high dose vitamin C (the last 5 years I have been a heaped teaspoon dissolved in a glass of luke warm water twice daily). Being vegan you need to keep the vitamin B12 levels up with supplements, and it is also a good idea to watch the omega 3 ratios – a tablespoon of ground flax seed (linseed) or chia seed a day should keep things within appropriate limits (I use an old coffee grinder to crunch them up then spread them on my breakfast – I do a 50/50 mix – longevity requires a higher ratio of omega 3 to omega 6 oils than a typical vegan diet delivers).

      Being high dose vit C, it is a good idea to supplement with a low dose multimineral and vitamin – I use a product called CAA from “Health House” in Tauranga NZ.
      Taking a little chalk (dolomite powder) is probably a good idea (calcium source). It doesn’t take much. If you notice little white spots on your skin, you are taking much too much. I’m currently taking a small pinch of powder – less than 1/100 of a teaspoon.

      With the modifications above, the RAVE vegan diet is a great place to start.
      And be aware that everyone has unique things about their biochemistry – there is no “one size fits all”. A lot of experimenting required to see what works best for you.

      Best wishes.

      Ted

      Like

      • mw says:

        Thank you, very helpful!

        Like

      • mw says:

        Ted, sorry, I was in a hurry before, but I did want to thank you very much for ALL your help by sharing your story regarding your struggle with cancer. Also, I wanted to share this website with you in the event you have not heard of it: http://www.whfoods.com/

        [This is my nutritional “guru” 🙂 ]

        BTW, my mother is the person of concern. She is 87 in september. So, she is a creature of habit, and, although she has agreed to do the RAVE diet it will be a difficult transition for her. But I made the change about 5-6 years ago and I have cooked for her a lot of vegan and vegetarian meals, so she is familiar with it, but she has never commited to the diet. We care about her and want her to see 100 years! 🙂

        Take Care,

        Mark

        San Francisco Bay Area, US

        Liked by 1 person

Comment and critique welcome

