Things I would tell my mum

Things I Want To Tell My Mom

What would you like to tell your mom?

It’s over 16 years since my mum died.
Like you, I miss her.
She was such a stand for me, for me being who and what I chose, in the face of any and all social pressures to the contrary.
I’m not sure she ever came to terms with my atheism, yet she acknowledge my commitment to universal values and to humanism in the broadest of senses.
I’d tell her I love her, and I’m sure she knew that.
I’d thank her for all the times she stood up for me. And I did that.
She loved life.
I’m sorry that life extension wasn’t available in time for her to enjoy it, and it may not be here in time for me, and maybe it will.

My dad and I worked together for a decade, best friends in a very real sense, yet my mind and my training took me places dad couldn’t go, his training and interests didn’t lean in that direction.

I think both knew they were loved and appreciated by me, I certainly said so explicitly many times, and I the face of the reality of their deaths I could ask no more than that.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Laurie's blog and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

