Write time – write place

The Write Time – The Write Place

Why do you write?
What is your creative outlet?

I write to communicate, to practice organising my thoughts in a way that they can effectively transfer complex ideas from my mind to the minds of others.
I do that in an attempt to actively enhance the probability of security and freedom for sapient life generally (human and non-human, biological and non-biological) – which includes myself. And it is clear to me that in the longest term I can only have such freedom and security myself if I am part of creating it for sapience generally.

So I write, like I did yesterday (a little over 5,000 words in my longest post yesterday) – https://tedhowardnz.wordpress.com/money/

And I guess part of the impulse sending me down the path I have followed (and actively chosen) was being tongue tied and unable to communicate as a young child.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Laurie's blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Write time – write place

  1. You’re quite the thinker – with heart. How much time in a week do you typically spend writing your blog? How many other writers do you engage with? Is your life primarily doing this?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Byron

      My life is very full. I probably do close to 30 hours a week writing in various fora, most of which I copy to this blog, and link to the original post.

      I engage in many community groups.
      I still own and run Solution-Multipliers Ltd, and am involved in about 20 organisations.
      Currently I am Chairman of:
      The Kaikoura Zone Water Management Committee (2nd year) (an appointed joint committee of the Kaikoura District Council and Environment Canterbury);
      The Kaikoura Boating Club (12th year in that elected role);
      The NZ Recreational Fishing Council (2nd yr);
      minutes secretary for:
      Kaikoura branch of Forest and Bird;
      Kaikoura Tramping Club;
      treasurer for:
      Te Korowai o te tai o Marokura (Kaikoura Coastal Guardians) (charitable society);
      ANG.
      Trustee of Hutton’s Shearwater Charitable Trust;
      Appointed member of the Kaikoura Guardians.
      Other organisations regularly involved with:
      Kaikoura Lions Club (member and past president)
      Kaikoura Golf Club;
      Kaikoura Cycle Club;
      Our Fishing Future;
      KORI – Kaikoura Ocean Research Institute;
      BRaid – Braided Rivers Aid group;
      Ray Kurzweil’s KurzweilAI site;
      London Futurists;
      Foresight Institute;
      Lifeboat foundation;
      CSER – Cambridge Centre for Study of Existential Risk;
      Miri – Machine Intelligence Research Institute.
      Also active on:
      John Fullerton’s Capital Institue Blog and
      Evonomics Blog and occasionally on
      Transhumanist blog.
      Subscribe to the:
      Transhumanist
      Skeptic and
      Vegan – facebook pages – with which I sometimes interact.

      So I keep try to keep active, as well as reading background material relevant to each of those interests, and actively pursuing some lines of enquiry.

      Like

Comment and critique welcome

