Just Born

2-4 Jan ’16 ~QofDay~ You Were Just Born

You were Just Born. How does that Feel ?
Explain Fully in Loving Detail.

When I was actually born, I didn’t have sufficiently trained neural circuitry to be able to identify that fact.

I have no recollection of ever being able to recall such memories.
It seems the process of recall in the human brain involves “destructive read”, which means that the memory is recalled, destroyed, then immediately re-written. This process can introduce small changes each time it occurs, particularly in respect of associated contexts. So the more we recall a memory, the less likely it is to be accurate, and the more likely it is to have been influenced by associations and desires.

There is the possibility of using birth as a metaphor. In the metaphor, it can be any change the is associated with a major change in ongoing life.

I can remember becoming aware that some people lie, and that one cannot necessarily trust what others say. That was a major point in my development.

I can clearly recall when I first understood how associative memory worked, and the impact that has had on my understanding of the various modes of understanding that are possible.

I can recall when I first started to fully understand the implications of infinity, one implication of which is that simply by adjusting the scale, where-ever one is on an exponential curve, what lies behind looks flat, and what lies ahead looks like a cliff. Infinity is vast beyond vastness.

I can clearly recall working out the numbers relating to the quantum states that have existed in this universe we find ourselves in, and those involved in the complexity of being human. Huge numbers, but writeable in just 6 characters 10^220 in the case of quantum states. Hard to give numbers like that any sort of existence, other than just big, yet a close approximation to zero compared to infinity.

I can clearly recall when I got that cause and effect could be modelled as outcomes of vast collections of random events constrained within defined probability distributions. How in such a world the causal and the acausal could coexist in a semi-magic harmony.

I clearly recall both where and when I understood the degree to which we tend to collapse together the what happens of life with the meaning we bring to it – so that they appear to be the same thing.
Last night I learned that my eldest cousin Grenville had died in his sleep. I keep that fact quite separate from the sadness I feel at not having made the opportunity to talk to him for many years. He lived 300 miles away, across a piece of ocean, and he was influential in my life, when I was little more than a toddler he was already a young man, a marine engineer with a career in the merchant marine ahead of him. A very interesting one as it turned out, being responsible for the operation of many of the largest machines to travel the ocean.

So there have been many births, each birth bringing a death to the previous way of being.

Sometimes the transitions have been quite clean, sometimes they have taken a little longer.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Brain Science, Question of the Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

