Into the Deep

Into the Deep

When was the last time you let go and joyfully flew head or feet first into the deep?

Hi Laurie

It’s kinda weird.
I am basically really cautious, and I scare really easy, and I rarely do anything without a plan B and plan C, yet many would say that I am way out there. And for me, I have intentionally developed competencies that give me confidence that I can handle the things I fear, at least to a useful level of probability.

I have dived into the dark ocean depths of 100ft deep (and not too clear) water, on a single breath, and returned (after 5 years of practice).
I have jumped into the ocean, miles from land, with a pod of Orca, and lived to tell the tale.
I was scared of heights, yet gained the confidence to abseil, fly aeroplanes, and climb mountains.
I was shy, yet put myself in the public political arena (the first time I did so I wasn’t as prepared as I thought, and the elation depression cycles were down to 20 minutes at the end of a full on 6 week campaign).

Recently, a few days ago, I wrote a submission to a review of our fisheries management system which broke all political conventions, and just said everything as I saw it in plain language. That is quite likely to upset quite a few people.

Yesterday I wrote a short critique of the current approach to AI being taken by Elon Musk et al – http://www.kurzweilai.net/musk-others-commit-1-billion-to-non-profit-ai-research-company-to-benefit-humanity/comment-page-1#comment-257425

There is an old piece of Buddhist wisdom that I picked up a long time ago, do the thing that you fear most and the death of fear is certain. I’m still playing with it.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Laurie's blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

