Leaving an impression

Beyond First Impressions

Have you defined the impression you want to leave?

Hi Laurie

You’ve read enough of my writings to have a fairly strong impression of what my aspirations are.

I would like not to leave – at least not for a few thousand years, and then come back to visit periodically (every few hundred thousand years or so).

My plan, is to have in place systems of relationship that will allow potentially long lived individuals to actually live a very long time. That means risk profiles in general society that are a close approximation to zero.

I want a world where we have created and distributed automated systems to every person on the planet that give them personal control over energy and food production, sanitation, water, safe housing, safe travel, communications, personalised healthcare and education. That requires a social environment that will support anyone in doing whatever they responsibly choose, where responsibility in this sense means taking reasonable care and actions to mitigate any adverse effects of one’s actions (including inaction) on the life and liberty of others.

It is a little over 41 years since it became obvious to me that extending lifespans indefinitely was a biological possibility. I was in a minority of 1 amongst those I knew at that time. Now that opinion is mainstream, and billions of dollars are being allocated to the last stage of the process of making it happen.

Development of appropriate social, political and technical institutions is still lagging, and it is becoming a more common conversation, though I am still very much a minority voice.

I don’t know if I will live to see it happen, and it is my firm desire to do so, and to live out the remainder of eternity in a body that has a biological age of about 20, and is enhanced in an ever expanding set of ways.
Direct neural interface to communities of others, and to stores of information and means of computation seem like very desirable enhancements to me. And I would want to be very confident that I retained ultimate control of the interface, so that I remained as a free individual, and did not become a slave to some greater entity. The definition of that boundary of freedom is one of the most interesting enquiries I have ever embarked upon, and one that seems without end.

So yeah – empowered individuals, working cooperatively to ensure the life and freedom of all – self and others.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Laurie's blog, Our Future and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

