Fluid or fixed

Square Peg

Is your shape fluid or fixed?

As usual, interesting question Laurie.

Are you familiar with Amoeba – little single celled animals that move by sending out “pseudopodia” (foot like extensions), and sort of flowing into that new direction?

For most of my life I have had this mental image of myself as a sort of conceptual amoeba, but rather than moving into new spaces, I just sort of expand into them, become them. In that mental image, the “space” is not restricted to 3 dimensions, every new distinction or abstractions opens a new and potentially infinite dimension that I slide a new pseudopod into (to “gain a foot hold”).

In this conception, my shape is constantly changing, always expanding, has semi fluid boundaries, and is always extending both its range within every dimension visited and the number of dimensions occupied.

The number of dimensions available seems to be infinite, so logic has forced me to accept that irrespective of the number of dimensions I manage to visit, or the depths I manage to investigate any of them, I will still be a close approximation to ignorant. Infinity is like that, vast beyond any ability to imagine.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Laurie's blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

