Only one memory

8-10 Nov ’15 ~Q of Day~ Special Memory

If you could keep only one memory what would it be?

That’s suicide, I will not consent to suicide. My memories, all of them, are integral to who I am.
I claim them all.
Any attempt to take them is violence on who I am.
I refuse to consent, or partake.

[followed by]

Hi Andrew
What others do is up to them.
For years my parents and I supported the voluntary euthanasia society, and I watched both of my parents fight to the last breath over many years to hang on to every second of life.
I strongly suspect that I would do the same.
If there existed a possibility of living through and beyond, however remote, I would try for it.
Have done so several times in the past – and am still here.

And I watched dementia eat away my father in law’s ability to control his thoughts or actions, though I could see there was still a kernel of awareness present that could not control much at all, but could still hold brief coherent thoughts, just not long enough to get them out in speech very often.
My mother in law is heading that way now.
So it is a really complex and personal choice, and for me, I am reasonably confident I would choose life, because just maybe it would get better. Technology is progressing so fast at present.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Philosophy, Question of the Day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

