Google’s New Look

Google’s look, evolved

You’ll see the new design roll out across our products soon. Hope you enjoy it!

I am sure someone must have done the math, but as one of those people who likes things to stay where and as I put them, forcing change like this just gets me annoyed.
I don’t like change for its own sake, there is already far too much change that we have to adapt to without forcing more for no useful purpose. It uses up precious neural real-estate for no benefit.

When a change like this happens, I don’t recognise it for what it is, and find myself wasting time, and getting annoyed. Human beings are neurologically structured to remember getting annoyed preferentially to benefits.

How many people are like me, and hate change for its own sake, and would love having a global option to leave all icons as they are?

Right now, if I had another option, I would take it, I’m that annoyed, despite all the things I love that Google are doing, like Calico and self driving cars.

Really strange how strong little annoyances like this can be in an emotional sense, as distinct from a logical or rational one.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in diary and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

