Spontaneous

Question of the Day, August 4-5-6, 2015, Spontaneous?

When was the last time you did something spontaneously?
Or How Spontaneous are you?

The Oxford defines spontaneous as:
“Arising or proceeding entirely from natural impulse, without any external stimulus or constraint; voluntary and of one’s own accord.”

That definition just makes no sense to me, and I sort of get what it is trying to say.

The idea of “natural impulse” just doesn’t sit well with me.
And as an alternative to externally imposed control, I can get it.

And it seems to me that we are so complex, that we have many different levels of influence from without, and many different levels of influence from within, that it is really difficult to discriminate between external and internal influences most of the time.
And it seems that we can work at creating as much awareness as possible of all the various levels that we are, and creating a space at each level between impulse and action, where judgement and choice can exist.

So I am a yes to spontaneous, in the sense of being aware of as many of the many levels of me that exist as possible, and being alert to the intuitions that are present.

I that sense, most of what I do, most of what I write – most of these words you have just read, are spontaneous, as is most that I do.

And at the same time – I have some commitments, and I am capable of overriding impulse when required, and of delayed gratification.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Question of the Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

