Death and dying

Question of the Day, July 16-17 2015, Death and Dying, fully living…

What is your relationship to death and dying?
It is something you understand and have a relationship with?
In what way?

I had to face imminent death 5 years ago.

I accepted it.

I avoided it.

I’d like to keep on avoiding it.

It was logically clear to me 41 years ago that age related senescence was avoidable. Most life forms do not show any deterioration of function with age (only the complex ones do). So loss of function with age is something that is new, not a necessary aspect of living. It seems that it helps with rapid evolution, so the things that didn’t do it remain relatively simple.

At another level, we are all part of an unbroken chain of life.

Our germ cell lines are continuous.

So our cells know how to stay young, they just don’t.

We need to figure out how to tell them to stay young.

It seems we are very close to that, with Google announcing Calico – their bid to stop aging, now joining others like the SENS foundation.

So I have accepted possibility of my death, and for me, it is clear beyond any shadow of reasonable doubt that death is simply that, an end with no afterlife of any sort (no evidence of any such thing).

And one of the birthday cards I got 2 days ago had these words on it:

“I asked a wise man on the mountain the secret of a long life.
And for your birthday, I thought I’d like to pass along his words of wisdom to you…”
[and inside the card]
“Keep breathing as long as possible.”

Good advice.

Seems to be working for me thus far 😉

I would like to live a very long time, hundreds of thousands (perhaps billions) of years, with a body that is at the peak of its health and fitness (about age 25 for me), which will most likely require periodic visits to a “regen” tank, where billions of nano machines spend a few hours going over my body from the inside returning each cell to optimal functioning and optimal connection to its neighbours.

The first iterations of that technology I expect will be 30 to 50 years away.

Before then, we should be able to essentially stop most of the “aging” processes, so that we essentially hold our current age, to allow time for the regen systems to develop and give us the ability to “wind back” to our “chosen age” and repair all scaring and damage.

So I accept death.

I don’t fear it as such.

And I plan on avoiding it for as long as possible.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Question of the Day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

