Four dignities

Question of the Day, July 10-11, 2015 “Four Dignities”

Rob Brezsny in Pronoia share his take on the Tibetan Buddhist idea of being fully present in the world through the practice of the Four Dignities of the Warrior’s Path in which he states “courage and ferocity are absent.” What he offers is:

The first dignity: Relaxed Confidence, a humble feeling of being at home in one’s body.
The second dignity: Perkiness, or irrepressible joy! Developing a habit of seeing the best in everything and works diligently to avoid the self-indulgence of cynicism.
The third dignity: Outrageousness: A Love to experiment and has a passionate objectivity that is free of the irrelevant emotions of fear and hope.
The fourth dignity: Inscrutability: a skill at evading simplistic definitions that may limit inventiveness while fighting for his or her moral vision.

Do you find that you incorporate or practice these dignities with your life? Please share some examples!

I can see where I aspire to each, and I am only too aware of the many instances and levels of my failure to achieve.

And I remain a stand for each.

I am happy in my skin.

I am alive to possibility.

I have a certain sort of recursive objectivity.

The simplicity I seek is that which lies beyond complexity.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Question of the Day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

