Leaders?

Question of the Day, June 11-12, 2015, Who’s a leader?

Are there situations in your life that have called you to be a leader, did you take on that roll or did you effectively create a situation where others could contribute to the leadership roll?
Do you think everyone has the capacity to be a LEADER?
And what is a leader ?
Would you take on that position?

Yes and yes.

I love the quote from Lao Tzu “When the best leader’s work is done the people say, ‘We did it ourselves.'”

I am in many leadership roles.

http://www.solnx.org

At one stage I was on 32 different committees, and was chair, secretary or treasurer of 8 of them. Currently I am treasurer for one organisation, secretary for one, chair of 3 (one local, one regional, one national), and active member in about a dozen others, plus all the virtual organisations I belong to online.

I certainly have many ideas, many understandings, that are not commonly understood, and my understanding of what reality most likely is is a very long way from what is generally socially agreed upon as real or true. Its been like that for so long I’ve just gotten used to it, and I seem to be exploring possibility space faster than most, so it seems likely to continue being this way. I don’t know what’s real, I only know what I generally find reliable and useful approximations. I make reasonable efforts to share the most useful of the things I have found, and what anyone does with that is their business – not mine.

So I guess by most definitions I am a leader, and I am not after followers for the sake of followers. I simply want everyone to experience as much freedom as they are capable of responsibly exercising without posing undue risks to themselves or others. And the sooner we can get the vast majority of people beyond simple ideas like right and wrong, true and false, and have general societal respect for the lives and liberties of all individuals and tolerance for diversity at all levels, the better off we will all be.

It seems very clear to me that all individuals have the capacity to lead themselves, yet many of our cultural and societal institutions are full of strategies that try and convince people to follow others (at many different levels), rather than responsibly exercise their own creative choice in a cooperative social setting. Many cultural sets of ideas come with strategies that reject experimentation and testing, and command individuals to follow one true set of ideas – in the name of faith or king or country or whatever. Many of those types of ideas can take over individual minds, and prevent experimentation, prevent tolerance or acceptance of diversity. In one sense, such things can emerge simply because they work in practice, and in another sense, they are often used by an unscrupulous few as tools of control and subjugation.

So in that sense, one could say I am choosing to lead people beyond following. Once they get to that point, where they go is entirely their choice.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Philosophy, Question of the Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

