IdeaPod – beyond parenthood?

Are we close to moving beyond parenthood?

Have we progressed to the point in evolution where we go beyond the need to replicate?

Have we reached the point where our ability to understand gives us the tools to extend life indefinitely into the future, and gives us an unending opportunity to explore, to refine our understandings of this reality within which we find ourselves, and to extend our capabilities?

Is it time for us to transcend our biological origins, and the imperatives to replicate implicit within those origins?

Can we as individuals embark upon an endless journey into new becomings, new paradigms, new realities?

Is such a transcendence a fitting way for evolution to continue the exploration of the space of the possible?

[followed by]

Hi Mark

Mortality is hard.
I watched both my parent die.
In 9 days time will be the 5th anniversary of having an oncologist I respect tell me I could be dead in 6 weeks, and had a less than 50% chance of seeing 5 months. That rather hammered home my mortality.

I don’t know if I will be one of those who make it to the realm of extended life-spans, and increasing capabilities, and I would certainly like to be. It has been something I have hoped for, planned for, and worked for, since 1974 (when I first saw it as a real possibility, and not just a dream without substance).

As to living some-place, we have to live somewhere.
I bought this house in an exchange that both parties were happy with. We retained contact with the previous owner for many years, and visited occasionally.

With a little bit of luck we will get much better at recording and recognising our mistakes, and not make the same ones too often.

And what is freedom if not the ability to make mistakes?

[followed by]

Hi Mark

I am happy for you that you have known such a one.
I am saddened to hear of her passing.

Living in the memories of others works for one sort of existence, and it tends to end with their ending.

I kinda like the idea of the good old fashion route – that of keeping body alive, and incrementally improving all of its functions.

As I said – I am not particularly confident that I will make that objective, and it remains my objective.
The technical issues of ending aging, while significant, are minor compared to the transformations in our social institutions required to deliver the sort of security that will actually allow people a reasonable chance to live a very long time. That has been, and continues to be, my major focus.

I wish you well in your time of grief.

Arohanui
Ted

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Ideas, Our Future and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

