IdeaPod – A need for Mortality?

Ideapod – A need for mortality

There is a saying in the pilot community “There are old pilots and there are bold pilots, but there are no old bold pilots”. I have been a pilot for over 20 years. I have raced boats and motorbikes, and have done many things things many consider high risk. I do not take a path that is devoid of risk, and I do take reasonable steps to mitigate those risks I can.

I see that it is possible to mitigate the risk of loss of capabilities (eventually leading to death) due to aging.

I see that mitigating these risks is simply prudent.

To live is always to risk death. Having faced cancer,and having been told I could be dead in a few weeks, I had to accept death.

I don’t have any sort of pathological fear of death, and I have a prudent respect for it.

I don’t expect immortality – I expect that we will reach an equilibrium state where the average person lives to about 5,000, and some live much shorter and some much longer – and all deaths are the result of accident.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Ideas, Our Future and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

