Third world games

19 Apr ’15 ~QofDay~Third World Games

WHAT DO YOU FIND INTRIGUING IN THE CREATIVITY
OF THE PICTURE AND
VIDEO ON THIRD WORLD GAMES?

Just makes me sad, to see the toys they make, that could so easily be real.

No need for anyone to be deprived of toys.

So many strange beliefs survive in this world.

[followed by]

Through most of my childhood I had farms to walk over, implement sheds in which to find things that needed fixing and work on them, any amount of work that needed doing.

By age 7 I would get home from school and, after the chores were done (chickens fed etc), take a rifle and go hunting, often bringing home small game that we ate (rabbit stew was a common meal), and sometimes I just watched the animals, learned their ways.

By age 12 I was doing 12 hour days driving tractors during the hay making season.

And sure I made things from sticks, from mud, dammed creeks with rocks, made boats out of old corrugated iron sheets, made tree houses, dug tunnels, made forts and hide away places, went fishing and frogging and bought home all manner of animals that became pets.

Much of my time was alone time. Sure I had two parents and two younger sisters, and sometimes friends, and most of the times that stick in my memory are being out alone in the hills and the paddocks or the streams or the ocean.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Question of the Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

