Self imposed restrictions

Slip Sliding Away

Do you ever apply self-imposed restrictions?

Plenty of self imposed restrictions – diet, lifestyle, behaviour – you name it.

And the restrictions need to serve a purpose I consider a worthy one.

In general terms, I am not a fan of restrictions – particularly those imposed by culture, state, or legal systems.

I am a great fan of Douglas Bader’s saying (and I suspect it is much older than him) – Laws are made for the obeyance by fools and the guidance of wise men.

And I am far from perfect. I make mistakes. And it is over 4 years since I missed my twice daily dose of vitamin C, or consciously ate any animal product (though I suspect that some of the so called vegan things I have been sold did in fact contain dairy products – from the way my body reacted to them.

And I am careful where I put my banana peels, and careful to keep bathroom and kitchen floors dry (due to accident risk).

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Ideas, Laurie's blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

