Ideapod – The Death Problem

Ideapod – Alan Watts and Jason Silva on the Death Problem

Seems to me Alan Watts is just doing another version of God – externalising purpose, rather than claiming it as a personal creation.

It seems clear to me that the universe simply is, what it is, when it is, devoid of meaning and purpose in and of itself.

I question Jason’s claim that only humans know we are alive. I once was asked to kill an old pig in a piggery (I knew the owner, and had fed those pigs occasionally over the years). The pig knew me. When she saw me walking in with a gun she started to scream, she looked at me in what seemed to be terror, and I shot her – one of the more difficult things I have done. So many questions in my mind in that instant.

It seems clear to me that we are the result of the process of evolution by natural selection operating recursively in many dimensions in several domains, a process of about equal parts competition and cooperation.

Genetics and culture give us a start point, and we can transcend both. To me the video is false.

To me it seems clear that we have the possibility of extending lifespans indefinitely, and changing the social systems within which we live to give us the sort of security that would allow such long life (if we choose it).

And I can imagine living for billions of years and still finding things every day that are novel and interesting – life and possibility just seem that big to me.

It is almost 5 years ago that an oncologist told me that my cancer had gone beyond medical technology, and that I was terminal, that I could be dead in 6 weeks and had a less than 2% chance of living 2 years. I accepted death that day, and I chose the possibility of life. I knew enough about probability to know that most such probability curves have long tails – thus far I am on the tail – 4 years free of tumours after going vegan and high dose vitamin C (twice daily).

It seems very probable to me that there is no purpose to life, to existence, other than the ones we each choose.

Choose!

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Nature, Question of the Day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

