Mentors

27 Mar’15 ~QofDay~ Life-Changing Mentor

Has a teacher/mentor/guide ever changed your life? If so then how?

So Many!!! in so many different ways!
To pick one – pretty much at random – the school bus driver from Waitakaruru from when I was about 11 years old.
I was coming home in the bus one day, and another kid (Ricky Scowan) was getting a hard time, and for once I wasn’t the focus of teasing, and to my shame I joined in, and used the term “Sickly Ricky”.
As I got off the bus the driver simply said to me “I never thought I would hear you say anything like that”.
And I got it.
I got that the adults did see what was happening, and some at least did care, and it was just out of their scope of action.
I don’t think I’ve called anyone a derogatory name since that day.
I also tend to give others a lot of scope, in allowance for the difference between what they see and what they see as their options of doing something about it.

Oh so many others
My Dad & Mum
Uncle Peter
Uncle Gordon
Aunty Betty
Aunty Iris
Aunty Edna
Cousin Ian
Cousin Brian
Trevor Bland
Ken Pattenson
Warwick Cowie
George French
Jim Dahm
Chris Hickey
Peter Molan
John Morton
Alan Edmonds
Peter Verschaffelt
Jim Bryant
Rex Smith
John & Tina North
Allan & Chris Scott
Len McKinnon
Tony & Ivy Creasey
Dennis & Pam Wrench
Vic Keppel
Nick Jarman
Noel Parsons
Peter Stevens
Len Pilcher
Alan Jeffrey
Jim Anderton
Peter Tapsell
Trevor de Cleene
Richard Prebble
Roger Douglas
Anne Hercus
David Caygill
Mike & Yvonne Moore
Tony Barbarich
Dave Sharp
John Parker
Cliff Marchant
David
David
Ferdi de Silva
Bill Bull
Bill Solomon
So many more – could spend hours on this list – and days (weeks…months…years) on what they taught me.
So many real people who have been willing to share the lessons of their lives with me.
So many more who share through their books, articles, papers, interviews, programs, recordings, movies, blogs, …..
Thousands of books I have read, tens of thousands of papers and shorter publications, most with valuable insights.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Question of the Day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

