Time?

1 Mar ’15 ~QofDay~ Time In Brain

How is ‘time’ represented’ in the brain?

I am not sure what the exact mechanism of time keeping in the brain is. I know I can sleep and wake and know the time to within a few minutes.
I know that anaesthetics remove that ability to keep track of time while unconscious.
I know that in some states of dreaming and mediation and illness there can be severe distortion of the sense of time, so that seconds seem to take hours to pass.
I strongly suspect that a specific region of the brain will have a chemically mediated clocking mechanism, but I have not investigated the details.

With a lot of practice I have trained myself to be able to count time very accurately, and mark periods of up to 10 minutes with an accuracy of about 1 second.
And our sense of time seems to be linked to memory.

I have had experience of driving, and being deep in thought about a problem, and suddenly becoming aware that half an hour has past, and I have driven 30 miles, and I have no recollection of the driving, only of the contemplation. Many similar experiences, in discussions and in programming. I have an ability to so engage in my internal world that no external stimuli make it through (Ailsa hates that, even though she knows it is not personal).

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Question of the Day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

