Do something for nothing

4 Mar’15 ~QofDay~ NOTHINGNESS

When did you last do something for nothing in return?

I don’t know that I ever do.

I consciously choose to do many things that have no immediate or short term return for me, yet I do them to create a social environment that will offer me the greatest long term probability of survival.

I do “pay it forward” often.
I pick up hitch hikers, I help out at many different charities, I do many acts designed to improve the function of society to deliver more choice and more security to more people – with the objective of making that all inclusive.

So on the very longest of term outlooks – many tens or hundreds of years, I intend to get some benefit from these actions, so they are not entirely without benefit, and not too many people expect to live for thousands of years, and I think there is a small and growing probability that I might.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Philosophy, Question of the Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

