Sucked In

Question of the Day ~ 3rd December, 2014 ~ SUCKED IN…

Advertising creates the illusion of scarcity to boost the allure of goods, creating an artificial demand for things people think they can’t live without, but often, in reality, are unlikely to ever use.
Can you list the things you’ve felt compelled to buy but that you’ve hardly, if ever, touched?

I do have one tool in the shed that I have not used – A gooseneck saw with a steel cutting blade, that was on special, and I will use to cut reinforcing steel when I finish the extensions to the house – and it hasn’t been used yet.

Other than that, most things I own have been and are well used – some of them infrequently, but critically on those infrequent occasions (like the chains for the 4WD).

I have got a small computer that I got from a Kickstarter project that I haven’t started up yet, and I know that if I do start playing with it, it will take all my spare time for months – so I am resisting.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Question of the Day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

