Invention

27 & 28 Oct ’14 ~Q of Day~ Your Invention

Have you ever invented anything?
Did it get made at all?
Has it been used by others?
Would you devote energy to getting it produced and sold, if you had the time, money, and energy?

I have developed quite a few computer programs – some of which have sold quite a few copies. Enough to keep me employed for nearly 30 years.

I have made lots of things.
I grew up with workshops around that I could try building things in – but I have never tried to sell any of them.
I have designed boats and aircraft. I built one boat – a 20ft jet boat. I got another design to the stage of building a 2ft scale model, before deciding to leave fishing for computing.
Built lots of one off special purpose devices for different kinds of fishing, haulers, automated met handlers etc.

I never got around to building the aircraft – but did spend an hour an a half with Burt Rutan discussing the design at Oshkosh in 1992 – it was for a 4 person float plane with a 2,000 mile range and a 20,000 ft service ceiling. Marriage and family became more important sinks for available funds.

Most of my energy now goes into finding ways to go beyond the constraints of market based systems into a world of universal abundance and radical security and freedom (security in this sense embodying longevity).

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Question of the Day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

