Most marvelous thing seen

14 Oct ’14 ~Question of the Day~ Marvellous

What’s the most marvellous thing you have ever seen with your own eyes?

Cannot give a single answer:

Ailsa

A meteor so bright that I watched it for about 12 seconds at 11am – as it went from near zenith to over the horizon, calving off chunks as it went

a 100ft high wave breaking

a tornado funnel from a distance of about 20ft

Mt Ruapehu erupting

dogs cooperating with one chasing a rabbit to where the other was waiting out of sight

a tree coming out of a river in flood like a giant fly swatter

lightning exploding a tree in two (about 100m from where I stood)

fork lightning sizzling as it hit the water all around me, as I lay in the bottom of my aluminium boat with my hair standing on end from the electric charge around me

waves coming through the ground towards me from the Edgecomb earthquake (as I stood in my house like a boat in a rough sea)

a squall wall of cloud, about 5000 ft high, coming towards me at about 40 miles an hour, with the cloud roiling from the base to out of sight at the top in about 10 seconds

a 14 ft mako shark jumping 30 ft in the air

a Yak52 aircraft crash landing, pieces of its propeller flying across the field towards me

a boat explode as the occupants leaped into the water

thousands of meteors lighting up the night sky like a fireworks display – dozens visible at once- the whole display lasting about 20 minutes

the road flashing past as the motorcycle I was riding went past 285km/hr

hundreds of eels as thick as my leg going up a river late one evening

so many rabbits that it seemed like a whole hillside was moving

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Question of the Day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

