Happiness

16 sep ’14 ~Question of the Day~ ( : HAPPINESS

What is true happiness?

Does the term “True Happiness” have any meaning.

If it does, what is false happiness?

It seems to me that happiness is what it is when it is it.
It seems to be an experience, unique to each of us, yet we seem to all be sufficiently similar that we can think we understand something of what others speak (and perhaps we can).
I can think of several significant happiness points in my life. The births of my children, making love to my wife, getting the results of my second scan after being diagnosed terminal cancer and it being tumour free. How do I judge one above the other?

It seems to me that there are levels of happiness.
It seems that to some degree the level of happiness we experience is a function of the degree of alignment we have amongst the multitude of conscious and subconscious aspects that make each of us who we are. And as we are all highly evolved social apes, that usually involves some aspect of service to others, as well as ourselves.

So it seems to me that the notion of true happiness is an illusion, and it seems that there may be an infinite spectrum of happiness possible, and at some level the choice of service to others seems to be a big part in the level of happiness experienced – at least that seems to be so in my personal experience.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Philosophy, Question of the Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

