War on cancer

The Truth in Small Doses: Why We’re Losing the War on Cancer — and How to Win It

Its just over 3 years since I was given a 50% chance of living 5 months. Out past the 1% end of the probability curve.
Cancer is an extremely complex topic, and the simplest solution seems to be to boost the body’s immune system and let it fight the cancer in the ways it has evolved to do so.
I went vegan, with high dose vitamin C. For me it worked.
For me, I 8 times relaxed the vitamin C and had new tumours appear. 4 times I had those tumours surgically removed and examined and they were all spindle cell melanoma. The other 4 times I just increased the vitamin C dose and they went away.
There is a lot of misinformation out there about Vitamin C. One very famous study purporting to show no effect from Vitamin C does not use the dosages recommended by Pauling. I am on a maintenance dose of a heaped teaspoon twice daily (7g per time, or 1g per 10Kg bodyweight). That works for me.
Several studies show that as soon as the calories from animal products get over 10% of total calories, the risk of cancer increases, plateauing at 30%. For me, it was easier to remove animal products completely than to try and restrict to 10% of total calories.
I dropped 17Kg in the first 4 months, and have since regained 4.5Kg to 74.5 from my low of 70Kg 3 years ago.
Took a long time to retrain my taste buds to start liking this rabbit fodder, and they did eventually come around – though it took the best part of two years.
It seems clear to me that we could easily halve the cancer rates simply by cutting out dairy products. Some big industries will resist that with all the money they can muster (which is quite a bit).

[followed by]

It is a hard call.
I have seen too many people unwilling to even try a change of diet, and die.
I did change diet, and lived.
I have read Pauling’s work, and I have read the 1978, the Mayo Clinic study purporting to disprove a link with vitamin C and cancer survival (and many others).
The Mayo clinic trial used a dose of 2.5g 4 times a day. So did not really prove anything.
Even at maintenance I am using 7g twice daily.
When I was trying to reduce and remove tumours I was using up to 20g per dose, twice daily, plus 1g per hour in between.
From the many studies I have read, the threshold value for effectiveness seems to be about 1g per 12Kg bodyweight per dose, at least twice daily. I’m staying well above that value.

So yes – I do repeat myself a bit, and if it helps one person, it will be worth any and all antagonism and criticism.

I strongly suggest anyone with cancer do their own research. Don’t rely on me or anyone else. Go to your local university library, read the many books and journal articles available, and draw your own conclusions.
Take the time to find out who is funding the studies, and factor that into your conclusions also.
That is what I did.

[followed by]

Agree with you.
Perfect knowledge is an illusion.
All knowledge is a map in a sense.
No map is ever the thing itself.
The best roadmap doesn’t show sharp rocks that may cause a punctured tyre.
Each individual must be responsible for the choice of the level of knowledge, vs the level of risk, that they are comfortable with.

Children have belief in absolute truth. This is necessary, as the simplest distinction that can be made of any infinitude is a simple binary – the electromagnetic spectrum into light and dark for example. All knowledge must proceed from such simple approximations to ever more degrees of refinement, and degrees of usefulness; and no model is ever the thing itself. As human beings, all of our experience is of a model of reality created for us by our brains. Becoming aware of that simple fact is one major step on the infinite journey to knowing ourselves.
As adults, we become aware that all knowledge has probability limits. The more we know, the less certainty we have (paradoxically).

[followed by]

Funny, the evidence seems clear to me that while we have many genetic susceptibilities to cancer, the body has many defense systems against cancers, and the probability functions around the expression of those tendencies to cancer is largely determined by diet and state of mind.

I certainly agree, that the more we know, the more options we have.
And broadly speaking, if you eat a diet of over 90% fresh fruits and vegetables, and live a relaxed and happy lifestyle, then you are highly unlikely to get cancer.

About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment and critique welcome

