The Weekend’s happenings

Saturday started with more chainsaw time, then out for a round of golf (played very badly).

Sunday was a full day.

I organised the Lions Beach fishing contest, which attracted about 176 entrants.

Unfortunately it was a bit windy, and not a lot of fish were caught, so we ended up with exactly one prize for every fish caught – which was kinda cute.

After the prize giving Ailsa and I went off to te Pier Hotel to listen to Paul Ubana Jones playing in their Garden bar – we relaxing interesting.

Posts were:
Continuation of 6th

Hi OM

Thank you.
I acknowledge and agree with all you say. I too have direct experience of many different selves and components of selves.

The one thing that I have had greatest difficulty in communicating to others is the “holographic” aspect.

Holograms are things created by a process. They have many very interesting properties. There are many parallels between how a hologram is formed, and how it behaves, and how brains form both short and long term memories, and how our recall process behaves.

The difference between a normal photograph and a holograph are profound.
In a normal photograph, there is a one to one relationship between the image and the original object. If you cut a piece off the photograph, you lose all information about a corresponding piece of the image.
Holographs are profoundly different.
Holographs are one to many.
Every point on the holograph contains a tiny bit of information about the whole of the object.
The more of these little bits you have, the clearer the image of the original object becomes.
If you cut a bit off a holograph, you lose a bit of resolution of the whole image, and you still have an image of the whole, it is just slightly less distinct.

Our brains handle many forms of information in this “holographic” fashion.
It has a profound impact on our ability to make instantaneous transitions, to gain sudden awareness, to make intuitive leaps, to see what was always present, but not previously distinguished.

The sort of “intuition” that our brains make is very sensitive to “context”.
If our brains are steeped in a cultural context that is full of concepts like “god”, then we will have intuitions that will be framed and interpreted within that context.
If our brains have a cultural base, that has been overlain with a habit of questioning and testing everything, and using the tools of science and technology to reinterpret our cultural heritage, then the intuitions will be framed, and recursively make input into, that context.

The intuition machine within brain is a direct outcome of the “holographic” way in which we store and retrieve information. It is almost a “side effect”.

Who we are, how we behave, how our subconscious supplies us with language appropriate to the context, all these things and many more are a direct result of this “holographic” process.

Once someone “gets it”, the world never quite looks the same again.

Once someone integrates it into their ontology, they are never the same again.

We are creatures of language, housed in bodies that have a 4 billion year biological heritage and a 14 billion year physical heritage, yet the language forms that allowed entities like us to exist seem to be somewhat less than ten thousand years old.

The technology that allowed for the possibility of entities like myself to form is less than 100 years old (actually less than 60 years old – DNA and LASERs are that recent discoveries).

And in a sense, I am just a mortal human body, similar in all physical aspects to most of my ancestors over the last 100 thousand years.
Yet in another sense, I am the recipient of a mimetic/cultural heritage which is very much younger, and very much more rapidly developing – and it takes a long time to acquire sufficient information and experience for many of the intuitions that have occurred within me to have the possibility of occurring.

I am fully conscious of the fact, that in terms of the mental models within this brain of mine, I am a very long way from the cultural norms that tend to define societies.
At the same time, I am still fully aware that I am a conscious and fallible human being.

As you said – all any of us have is our own interpretations of our own experiences, and we have the ability to try on the interpretations of others, in so far as we are able to understand them.


Question of the Day for January 8th 🙂

What do you know for sure?

That the only thing that I know for sure is that “I am”.

Everything else, including everything about who and what I am, is a probability function.


Question of the Day for January 9th 2011

What role does color play in your life?

Colour plays a role in my life, but indirectly, through Ailsa.

Ailsa is very creative, and very into colour (sounds a lot like you OM).

Very early in our relationship she found she could determine exactly what I wore by what she put on top of my clothes pile (I just reach in and take the first item, and put it on – 90% of the time).

Ailsa’s current interest is making button necklaces.

Ailsa's - button necklaces

She has many other colour interests, clothes, painting garden, ….

She won the grand prize in the Kaikoura Trash to Fashion show a few years ago (which while we are a small town does attract entries and judges from major cities).

So Colour plays a very important though indirect role in my life.

[followed by]

Just like me Knud.

Though my sister (Pauline) married a Dane (Pete Ravn) I don’t know any Danish words for colours (funnily enough, today is their wedding anniversary – their 25th I think).

I remember as a kid being very proud of myself that I could remember the colours of the rainbow (red, orange yellow green blue indigo violet) and I thought that was enough. Beyond that it just gets too complicated.

As a biochemist I am familiar with how our eyes perceive colour, and am acutely aware of the fact that very small differences in the structure of the proteins in the eye can have a huge difference on exactly what colours people see. I am very aware of the fact that most women see colours very differently to most men (because of sex linked differences in some of these proteins).

When I did the colour blindness test for my skippers ticket they asked me to tell them what number I saw on the pages of a book – I said which ones (most pages I could see 3, and some 2). Apparently that’s not normal.

And yes – I like looking at the colours too, but just don’t ask me to put labels on the colours.

Knud Riishøjgård said:
Those are fun and beautiful necklaces!
I appreciate colors, though I don’t know what they are called (neither in english or danish).


About Ted Howard NZ

Seems like I might be a cancer survivor. Thinking about the systemic incentives within the world we find ourselves in, and how we might adjust them to provide an environment that supports everyone (no exceptions) - see www.tedhowardnz.com/money
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Weekend’s happenings

  1. holessence says:

    Ted – The fishing contest and time spent with Ailsa both sound like fun!

    I especially liked your answer to the question, “What do you know for sure?”

    Ailsa’s button necklaces sound cool!

    Like

  2. Hi Laurie

    Yep – Fishing contest was interesting.
    We had one mistake, but mostly it worked well in the end.
    There was quite a fresh cold southerly, and I got rather chilled before taking refuge in the back of a truck and setting up my laptop in there.

    I have updated the post to include a link to a picture of some of Ailsa’s necklaces.

    Looking at the mountains, we still have a few patches of snow over about 8,000ft. Usually they have all melted by now.
    The air temperature has been fairly cool the last few days unusual for this late in summer, though it is warm enough in the sun.

    Thanks for the post.
    Love to Len and “the kids” (our two are curled up on the floor, having just taken them for their morning walk).

    Like

  3. holessence says:

    Ted – I’m glad you added the link. Please tell Ailsa I think her button necklaces are really neat!

    I’m glad you got out of the wind and took refuge in the truck. Once I get chilled “to my bones” it takes me a good long while, and a hot soak in the tub, to warm back up again.

    We’ve just got a bit of snow on the ground here. That’s very unusual — here — for this time of year. It’s bitterly cold, but strangely, the sun is shining. We’ve got a nice fire going in our woodburning stove. It seems odd to have a fire burning when the sun is out.

    One of my three kids isn’t doing so well. In addition to being 13 years old, she’s definitely a mama’s girl, and she didn’t do well with me being in southern California to take care of my dad for 16 days. It really took the wind out of her sails.

    Len and I are BOTH going to be gone in April (we’re taking our bicycles to California and riding them through Napa and Sonoma Valleys). Our son, Eoghan, will house/animal sit for us while we’re gone, but I have the feeling that this 2-week absence may well put Claire over the edge. We talked about taking her with us, but as Len said, it just wouldn’t be feasible.

    Have yourself a spectacular day!

    Like

  4. Hi Laurie

    Having a very quiet day today.
    Ailsa has her friend Marina up for the day – and they have gone out for a bit.
    Huia did a runner on me this morning (I turned my back on her for less than a minute and she decided to take herself for a walk – hasn’t come home yet – now 3 hours).

    Ailsa asks what colours (colors) you like. She would like to do a necklace for you, as a thank you for all the support and love you have shown me over the last year.

    Arohanui
    Ted

    Like

  5. oh my gosh, Oh My Gosh, OH MY GOSH! I’m so excited I can’t see straight. I wear a lot of earth tones (browns, tans, and creams) and all shades of green. Now that I think about it, kind of like a tree!

    This is so very thoughtful of Ailsa – THANK YOU!

    Like

Comment and critique welcome

